History and Structure

In 1957, the inaugural meeting of the Society for Growing Australian Plants (SGAP) was held in Melbourne. Welcoming members from around Australia, the Society's purpose was to study and develop the horticultural potential of Australian native plants and to preserve them through cultivation.

The national association is now known as the Australian Native Plants Society (Australia) (ANPSA) and it comprises eight affiliated but autonomous regional societies (one for each of the six Australian states plus the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory). Each regional society independently manages their own administration, membership, activites and local branches.

Native Plants Queensland is the trading name (adopted in 2015) of the society for the Queensland Region. We have over 1000 members across the state, many of whom have also joined one of our 19 local branches.

Our logo, featured in the top left of the website, represents Queensland’s floral emblem, the Cooktown Orchid (Dendrobium bigibbum).

Native Plants Queensland is managed by our Queensland Regional Council, under the terms of our Constitution and Rules (PDF).

To celebrate the Society's 50th anniversary in 2007, the Society's Victorian Region published a comprehensive history researched and written by John Walter.

Copyright © 2022 Native Plants Queensland : All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software